Working towards optimal health for all older adults

Leadership Development

Funding Opportunities

Innovation Award

The NHCGNE Innovation Award is designed to recognize and celebrate innovative programs and projects that highlight excellence in Gerontological Nursing. The Award will be granted to a member or team of NHCGNE members to show\case innovations designed and implemented that positively impact the nursing care of older adults. Nominations for the NHCGNE Innovation Award are submitted by self-nomination. Nominees must be a gerontological nurse from a member institution. 

Nominations are being accepted until August 31, 2018. Click here for more information.
  • 2017
    Cathy A. Maxwell, PhD, BSN, MSN, Vanderbilt University School of Nursing
  • 2016
    Sylvia Ting, Hong Kong Polytechnic University School of Nursing
  • 2015
    Ingrid Pretzer-Aboff, PhD, RN, University of Delaware School of Nursing

Mentoring Opportunities

Peer Mentorship Program

Overseen by the Mentor Network Committee, this program provides information, guidance and support to those who are in the early stages of their careers.

For More Information

Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Legacy Affiliates: Past Scholars and Fellows

NHCGNE is proud to have supported the following persons through our Patricia G. Archbold Scholar and the Claire M. Fagin Fellows award program, from 2015 – 2017.
2015 – 2017 Cohort
  • Mary O. Whipple, University of Minnesota
2014 – 2016 Cohort
  • Nancy Dudley, University of California San Francisco
  • Daniel Mick, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Scott Emory Moore, Clemson University
  • Darina Petrovsky, University of Pennsylvania
  • Tina Sadarangani, New York University
  • Ayasha Stewart, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Kristin Cloyes, University of Utah
  • Andrea Gilmore-Bykovskyi, University of Wisconsin
  • Corey Nagel, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Marci Nilsen, University of Pittsburgh
  • Melissa O’Connor, Villanova University
  • Rachel Roiland, Middleton Memorial Veterans Hospital
2013 – 2015 Cohort
  • Jenny Alderden, University of Utah
  • Julie Bidwell, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Staja Booker, University of Iowa
  • Glenna Brewster, University of South Florida
  • Quin Denfeld, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Shelli Feder, Yale University
  • Gerardo Flores, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Bryan Hansen, Johns Hopkins University
  • Hyejin Kim, University of Pennsylvania
  • Maichou Lor, University of Wisconsin
  • Fawn Cothran, Rush University
  • Fayron Epps, Our Lady of the Lake
  • Nikki Hill, Penn State University
  • Kari Lane, University of Missouri
These Scholars and Fellows are part of 249 NHCGNE Legacy Affiliates.   Legacy Affiliates include all Scholars and Fellows, 2001-2015, that are a permanent part of the NHCGNE membership.