Skip to main content

Working towards optimal health for all older adults


The National Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence (NHCGNE) announces a call for nominations for the 2023 NHCGNE Innovation Award. The purpose of the award is to highlight the innovative ways in which NHCGNE members are advancing the care of older adults and to celebrate the impact of these leaders in advancing nursing care for older adults.

Claudia J. Beverly Innovation Award  

About the Claudia J. Beverly Innovation Award 

The NHCGNE Innovation Award is designed to recognize and celebrate innovative programs and projects that highlight excellence in Gerontological Nursing. The Award will be granted to a member or team of NHCGNE members to showcase innovations designed and implemented that positively impact the nursing care of older adults. Nominations for the NHCGNE Innovation Award are submitted by self-nomination.

  • NHCGNE member
  • Gerontological nurse
  • Recognizes work completed within the previous 3-year-period related to innovation in science, research, education or practice

  • Compelling creativity;
  • A new, unique idea or a variation in an existing concept;
  • A significant impact on the quality of nursing care of older adults;
  • An improvement in healthcare delivery quality, efficiency, or cost effectiveness;
  • Collaboration, teamwork, and cooperation between disciplines, institutions, or organizations

Process of Application 
  • Self-nominations should be submitted to the NHCGNE with a one-page application form and a two-page narrative addressing each of the five criteria for consideration.
  • Two-page narrative describing
    • (a) the specific innovative project and
    • (b) how that project addresses each of the five criteria.
A panel of representatives from the NHCGNE will review the application package of all nominations. Awardees will be notified no later than September 22nd. Recipients will be acknowledged during the NHCGNE Business Meeting at the Annual Leadership Conference.

Ready to Apply?

Nominations for the 2023 NHCGNE Innovation Award are currently being accepted. 

Previous Winners


Melissa Batchelor
George Washington University


Fayron Epps, PhD, RN
Emory University
Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing


Staja Booker, PhD RN
University of Florida
College of Nursing


Ann-Rae Montano, PhD, RN-BC
University of Connecticut
School of Nursing


Andrea Gilmore-Bykovskyi PhD, RN
University of Wisconsin-Madison
School of Nursing


Cathy A. Maxwell, PhD, BSN, MSN
Vanderbilt University
School of Nursing


Sylvia Ting
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
School of Nursing


Ingrid Pretzer-Aboff, PhD, RN
University of Delaware
School of Nursing